Footsteps Through Time | Home
Hannah and Theodosia Jackson
Daughter of Deacon John and Margaret Taft Jackson
Cousin of Hannah Jackson
Theodosia was born about 1645 in Cambridge, Massachusetts Bay Colony ten years after the arrival of her parents, Deacon John Jackson and his wife Margaret (Taft) Jackson. She was one of their fourteen children.
Theodosia married Noah Wiswall when she was nineteen and he was twenty-six. They became the parents of six children and made their home near Boston.
In 1690, Captain Noah Wiswall and one of his sons were killed by the Indians on a military expedition in Maine.
She married Deacon Nathan Newman of Rehoboth, Massachusetts nine years after the death of her first husband.Theodosia died in Newton, Massachusetts in 1725 at the age of 80.
Daughter of Edward and Frances Jackson
Cousin of Theodosia Jackson
Hannah Jackson was born about 1631 in London, Middlesex, England and was baptized in London on May 1, 1634. She emigrated with her parents Edward and Frances Jackson and other family members to Cambridge, MA in 1643. Her father was a prosperous "naylor". He supplied a steady supply of nails to the growning settlements, and in doing so became quite wealthy. He was a deacon of the First Church of Cambridge. Hannah's mother died five years after coming to the colonies. Her father married Eizabeth Newgate Oliver, widow of Rev. John Oliver the following year. When Hannah was 19 she married Deacon John Ward, 26, of Sudbury, MA. He was a farmer and a turner, a worker in wood usually using a lathe. John was the oldest son of William Ward, an early settler of Sudbury, MA where he had lands granted him in 1640. They settled in the east part of the village. Her father conveyed "to him and his wife Hannah, all that tract of land where they have entered and builded their dwelling huse, about forty-five acres." His land was on Highway N., near the land of John Jackson E., highway to Goodman Hammond's s., and Capt. Thomas Jackson, E., highway to Goodman Hammond's s., and Capt. Thomas Prentice W. Upon this tract stood the venerable Garrison house, supposed to have been built by him; it was taken down in 1821, having stood about one hundred and seventy years, and sheltered seven generations. By subsequent purchases of land, he increased his forty-five acres to about five hundred acres, which he distributed among his sons, by deed of gift, in 1701, seven years previous to his decease. Each parcel consisted of about 100 acres.
Hannah and John raised a large family of 13 children, eight boys and five girls. Hannah died on April 24, 1704, John four years later on July 2, 1708. They are buried in Old East Parish Burying Ground in Newton, MA.